Feldkirch

 

The city of Feldkirch, located directly on the Ill River, was founded by the Count of Montfort in the Middle Ages. It´s conveniently nestled in the corners of Austria, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and Germany, which, even in the morning, is a transportation hub and centre of trade.
In the following centuries, the city developed into an intellectual and cultural centre for the area.
The emblem of the Montfort City, the Schattenburg, was presumably built in the middle of the 13th century. After the Counts of Montfort, Count Friedrich von Toggenburg and the Austrian reeves, the city of Feldkirch purchased the castle grounds in 1825.
Today, the city is home to 30,000 people and leaves a great impression on everyone with its very well-kept and affectionately looked-after mediaeval old town.
Aside from the considerable shopping options as well as its great nightlife, Feldkirch has a lot to offer including casinos in the vicinity (http://de.partypoker.com) and opportunities for a variety of outdoor activities.
Cobblestone streets, romantic arbours, narrow alleyways, and a variety of facades and events on the Marktgasse make Feldkirch the interesting city it is and one that you will always look forward to visiting again. This is true for the tourists as well as the inhabitants.


Cultural offers
Events
Virtual city tour

Feldkirch

 

Die Stadt Feldkirch, direkt an der Ill gelegen, wurde im Mittelalter von den Grafen von Montfort gegründet. Sie liegt in einer strategisch günstigen Lage am
Vier-Ländereck Österreich, Schweiz, Liechtenstein und Deutschland und entwickelte sich deshalb bereits früh zu einem Verkehrs- und Handelsknotenpunkt.

In den darauf folgenden Jahrhunderten entwickelte sich die Stadt zu einem geistigen und kulturellen Zentrum der Region.

Das Wahrzeichen der Montfortstadt, die Schattenburg, wurde vermutlich Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts erbaut. Nach den Grafen von Montfort, Graf Friedrich von Toggenburg und den österreichischen Vögten erwarb die Stadt Feldkirch 1825 die Burganlage.

Heute bietet die Stadt Platz für 30.000 Einwohner und überzeugt vor allem mit ihrer sehr gut erhaltenen und liebevoll gepflegten mittelalterlichen Altstadt.

Neben umfangreichen Einkaufsmöglichkeiten sowie eines abwechslungsreichen Nachtlebens, bietet Feldkirch in der näheren Umgebung auch Casinos (http://de.partypoker.com) und Möglichkeiten für verschiedenste Outdoor-Aktivitäten.

Abgetretenes Kopfsteinpflaster, romantische Lauben, enge Gassen, abwechslungsreiche Häuserfassaden und vielfältige Veranstaltungen in der Marktgasse machen Feldkirch zu einer interessanten und immer wieder gern besuchten Stadt, sowohl für die heimische Bevölkerung als auch für Touristen.


Kulturangebote
Veranstaltungen
Virtueller Stadtrundgang
Informationen Feldkirch